工傷及意外索償

我們為公司及個人客戶提供全面的工傷及意外索償法律服務



工傷及意外索償

僱員若在受僱工作期間因工遭遇意外以致受傷或死亡,即使僱員在意外發生時可能犯錯或疏忽,僱主在一般情況下可仍須負起補償責任。所以,當僱員因工受傷,應儘快通知僱主。當僱主收到通知後,須在14天內 (如涉及死亡個案須於7天內)向勞工處呈報有關該工傷事故的資料,否則,即屬違法。

根據香港法例《僱員補償條例》第48條規定,在未得到勞工處處長的同意,僱主不得解僱受傷僱員,或發出通知終止其僱傭合約,均屬違法。

僱員在工傷索償中,可享有的賠償包括:

a)
審訊前的收入損失之4/5
b)
永久性傷殘補償(補償金額請參閱註1之圖表)
c)
註冊醫生的醫藥費(可獲發之醫療費用的每天最高金額 為住院治療港幣300元,門診治療港幣300元,同日住 院及門診治療港幣370元)。

註1:補償金額
若僱員在受僱工作期間因工遭意外以致死亡,其僱主須向其在生的家庭成員支付死亡補償。補償金額是按僱員在遭遇意外時的年齡及每月收入來計算,一般計算方法如下:

死亡個案
已故僱員年齡
補償金額
40歲以下
84個月收入
或最低補償金額,兩者以較高的金額為準
40-56歲以下
60個月收入
56歲或以上
36個月收入

非死亡個案
僱員受傷時的年齡
補償金額
40歲以下
84個月收入
或最低補償金額,兩者以較高的金額為準
40-56歲以下
60個月收入
56歲或以上
36個月收入


温馨提示

根據《僱員補償條例》第14(1)條訂明,凡有關僱員補償 的申請,必須在導致僱員受傷的意外發生日期起計24個 月內向法院提交。因為辦理法律手續需時,僱員為免喪失 追討權利,應儘快尋求法律意見以作進一步協助。

僱員工作期間內發生之意外中除了可得到《僱員補償條例》內的賠償外,若當中僱主或第三者牽涉有疏忽成因及/或責任,則僱員在同一意外中亦可追討疏忽責任賠償。 一般包括:

a)
痛楚、痛苦及失去生活樂趣的一般性損害賠償;
b)
審訊前收入損失;
c)
將來收入損失;
d)
醫療費用;及
e)
其他因意外所產生之額外費用等




交通意外索償

在交通意外中,不論傷者或死者是途經的路人、司機或乘客,若因第三者疏忽導致有人受傷或死亡的話,受傷者或死者之親屬可透過民事訴訟程序向疏忽者追討應得之賠償。本律師事務所會為各傷者或死者親屬分析個案,並提供專業的法律意見。


如果你/妳是意外中的傷者

一旦發生車禍,很容易令人混亂及忘記獲取必要的信息。所以,當發生意外,應保持鎮定,並緊記以下之事項:

1.
如有人受傷,應儘快報警求助,告訴他們意外現場之正 確位置和需要醫療援助。如果有任何人受藥物或酒精的 影響而導致意外,也應該告訴警方。
2.
如果你/妳受了傷,可能會直接被送到醫院急症室。但如果 輕傷的話,亦不要就此認為自己没有受傷。許多車禍受 傷如頸椎過度屈伸,並未能即時察覺到的。如果你/妳在 車禍後開始產生不良反應,應立即通過醫療專業人員去 進行檢查,並按照醫生的指示護理和跟進。如果你/妳在 24-36小時後發現有潛伏性傷害,但未能獲得醫療照顧, 可能會產生嚴重的後果。不要忽視那些不熟悉的症狀, 或數小時後出現疼痛,不及時的治療將造成重大的健康 問題。


如果你/妳是意外中的司機

如果你/妳是司機應儘快聯繫自己的保險公司。如果你/妳覺得,由於任何理由,你/妳的公司可能不願意為意外支付賠償,你/妳應該考慮聯繫個人律師。但是,也不要拖延聯絡你/妳的保險公司。大多數保險公司都有規定你/妳必須在多少時間之內聯絡他們的要求,未能按規定的你/妳的申請可能會被拒絶,對日後之事態發展將影響深遠,你/妳因而要自行負上一切的民事責任。另一方面,你/妳也不應該回答其他司機的保險公司的任何問題或作出任何聲明,直到已經諮詢了律師的法律意見為止。在獲得法律意見之前,應該拒絶就意外作出任何評論。

無論你/妳是車禍中的傷者或司機,也應該在意外現場拍下一些有用的相片。不要忘記拍下車輛的損壞情況、車牌或傷勢相片等。




其他因第三者疏忽引致之意外


第三者疏忽意外索償

若受害人在其他情況下因第三者疏忽令受害人身體產生傷亡及財物損失,受害人可向事件中的有關機構/人事作出追討,如商場/大廈管理公司等,因為他們有責任確保對所進出入其管理地方範圍之訪客或住戶作出適當的照顧。

所有因第三者疏忽而引致意外的案件,當受害人或死者親屬証明是因疏忽者所引致的話,受害人或死者親屬必須在受傷後三年內向法庭提出申請。




善用法援

如受害人的經濟能力較差,本律師事務所提議受害人申請法律援助,使受害人得到應有的保障。如有需要,本律師事務所有專人協助申請。

•     根據《僱員補償條例》的索償
普通法索償(代表僱員,僱主和保險人)
交通意外索償
致命意外索償
醫療疏忽索償
專業疏忽索償
       查詢熱綫:
(852) 9845-1611

Personal Injury & Employees’ Compensation Claim

We offer a full range of legal services to both Personal Injury & Employees’ Compensation Claim





Compensation for Work Injury

If an employee sustains an injury or dies as a result of an accident arising out of and in the course of his employment, his/her employer is in general liable to pay compensation under this Ordinance even if the employee might have committed acts of faults or negligence when the accident occurred. Therefore, an injured employee should give the employer notice of the accident as soon as possible. When the employer has been informed the happening of the accident, he/she must notify the Commisioner of Labour within 14 days after the incident (or 7 days in case of death), irrespective of whether the accident gives rise to any liability to pay compensation; elsewise, commits an offence.

According to section 48 of the Employee's Compensation Ordinance, an employer shall not, without the consent of the Commissioner terminate the contract of service of an injured employee; or give notice to the employee of such termination. Elsewise, he shall be guilty of an offence.

An injured employee can enjoy the compensations including:

a.
Four-fifth of the monthly earnings before trial
b.
Permanent disability compensation (Please refer to Note 1: Amount of Compensation)
c.
The daily maximum of medical expenses payable by the employer are as follows:

The medical expenses for each day of stay in the hospital where an employee is given medical treatment as an in patient.
$300
The medicial expenses for each day on which an employee is given medical treatment other than as an in-patient in a hospital.
$300
The medical expenses for each day on which an employee is given medical treatment both as an in-patient in a hospital and other than as in-patient in a hospital.
$370


Note 1: Amount of Compensation If an employee dies as a result of an accident arising out of and in the course of employment, the employer shall be liable to pay compensation for death to his surviving members of the family. The amount of compensation payable is calculated with reference to the age and monthly earning of the deceased employee as below:

Fatal Cases
Age of Deceased Employee
Amount of Compensation
Under 40
84 months' earning
Or minimium anount of compensation, whichever is higher
40 to under 56
60 months' earning
56 or above
36 months' earning

Non-fatal Cases
Age of Deceased Employee
Amount of Compensation
Under 40
96 months' earning
Or minimium anount of compensation, whichever is higher
40 to under 56
72 months' earning
56 or above
48 months' earning


IMPORTANT NOTE

Section 14 (1) of the Ordinance stipulates that an application to the Court for employees' compensation has to be made with 24 months from the date of the accident causing the injury. Therefore, if a case cannot be settled by the end of the 18th month from the date of accident, the employee concerned should contact the Employees' Compensation Division of the Labour Department as soon as possible. Subject to the decision of the employee, the Division would assist the employee either to approach the Legal Aid Department for further assistance, or to register his/her claim direct at the District Court.

If such injury is caused by the accident arising out of or in the course of employment, the employee is entitled to receive the compensation under the Employees' Compensation Ordinance. Apart from that, where injury is caused to an employee by the negligence, the breach of statutory duty, or other wrongful act or omission of the employer or together with the third party, the injured employee may also bring a separate claim for damages against the third party.

It normally includes:

a.
Pain, suffering and loss of enjoyment of life;
b.
Pre-trial loss of earnings;
c.
Post-trial loss of earnings;
d.
Medical expenses; and
e.
Other accident-related costs



Traffic Accident Compensation

In a traffic accident, as long as deaths and/or injuries were caused by third party negligence, victims and / or the deceased's family members (irregardless of them being a passer-by, driver or passenger) can claim damages against the negligent party through civil proceedings. Our firm will analyze the case and provide professional legal advice.



If you are the injury in the accident

In the event of a car accident, people in a messy state of affairs may forget to obtain necessary information. Therefore, should stay calm and bear in mind the following when accidents occur:

1.
If someone is injured, you should report to and seek help from the police. Tell them the your geographic location and request medical assistance. Also tell the police if the accident is caused by any person who is under the the influence of drugs and / or alcohol.
2.
If you are injured, you may be transferred to the Accidents and Emergency Department of a hospital. Please do not ignore injures which are not severe since many post-accident injuries, for example, whiplash injury cannot be detected immediately. If you feel some difficult emotions after a car accident, you should seek out a treatment and follow the instructions given by the doctor. If you discover latent injuries after 24-36 hours, there will be severe consequences if no medical treatment is received. Please don't ignore unfamiliar symptons or pain sustained few hours later, delayed medical treatment may cause severe health problems.


If you are the driver

If you are the driver, please contact your insurer as soon as possible. If, for any reasons, you are of view that your company may not be willing to compensate on your behalf, you may consider contacting your lawyer. However, you should not delay in contacting your insurer. Most insurance companies do require you to contact them within a specific time, failing which may lead to rejection of your claim. This may affect the progress of the matter, and you may have to bear all civil responsibilities. On the other hand, you should not answer any questions posed by other drivers’ insurers or to make any declaration until you have consulted your lawyer. Before receiving any legal advice, you should refrain from talking about the accident.

Irregardless of whether you are the victim or the driver, you should take some photos at the accident scene. Don’t forget to take photos of the vehicles’ license plates, your wounds and the damages done to the vehicles.



Additional Damages Caused by Third Party Negligence

When a person sustains an injury or death and loss of valuables as a result of the third party negligence, he may take proceedings to recover damages from the related organization or party, for example, shopping center or Property Management Office as they have the responsibility of ensuring the safety of visitors and / or residents visiting places which are under their management.

For all accidents caused by third party negligence, if the victim or the deceased's family members can prove the accident was caused by the negligent act , they must apply to the court within three years from the date on which the cause of action accrued.



Make Good Use of Legal Aid

If the victim in the case having insufficient financial means, he/she will be advised to apply for Legal Aid services in order to protect his/her best interests in legal matter. If necessary, our firm will provide assistance in the application for Legal Aid Services.




Enquiry Hotline:
(852) 9845-1611